Stompy Walker: Another Noise Complaint

I’ve been hosting off and on for three years and overall have a 4.8 average with 140 reviews. My biggest struggle (which I’ve posted before) is noise complaints. I have a very common set up for my city: a basement apartment in my home where I live overhead with my family.

Maybe 1 out of 5 guests mentions the noise but says it was mitigated by the earplugs and white noise machine I reply. Maybe 1 out of 15 outright complains about the noise in the review. I can deal with this: I still have Superhost and I know nitpicky reviews can actually ward off other nitpicky guests.

What has gotten me down is that my last four or five reviews have mentioned or complained about noise so I wonder if it has gotten worse. My booking rate has dropped as well. Mercifully, one of the guests left a contextualized review stating that for my price-range, most AirBnBs in my city are basement apartments with noise overhead and mine is one of the nicest they’ve stayed in.

My guest who left this morning PMed me to say it felt like being inside a drum.

I haven’t decided if I should reply to her (it was over the chat, she hasn’t reviewed me yet). I’ve considered replying and explaining my husband has a minor neurological disability that slightly limits his mobility. He can’t tiptoe and basically has a stompy gait. I don’t know that this is relevant or the business of a guest, however.

Is there anything else I can do to soundproof or set guest expectations? Since my husband can’t physically tip-toe, I am going to see about getting my him some slippers to see if that will mitigate the noise. We don’t wear shoes indoors.

1 Like

See about getting more/newer insulation installed between the floors. Does the basement have a dropped ceiling? Maybe newer, better sound baffling ceiling tiles and new or added insulation batts added between the drop ceiling and underside of the floor above. For tax purposes that would certainly count as a “home improvement”.