Guests used my place to store an apartments worth of furniture for 2 weeks

I just had my 2nd guest stay. This was a professional couple looking to stay for 2 weeks in between apartments.

I could see by their email and name that they were profs at a local university.

So, it was easy to accept the booking.

Their 2 weeks is up today and no excessive noise from them during their stay here, and only saw them once, which is fine.

I see them out of the window this morning loading up a U-haul. It looks like they stored an apartments worth of gear in my place.

Although it’s not written in the rules not too! I can’t help thinking that it’s a bit cheeky.

I suppose if there’s no damage done, you could say ‘what’s the problem’… but seeing as I’m new to trying out short stays in my place, and my first guest was a 3rd party booking by a lawyer who booked a homeless person into my place, 2nd that I cancelled was a sex worker, and now 3rd is a couple using my place to store all their stuff.

I think in these times of covid and no international travel. This is not for me!

At least I scratched that itch and found that out.

Nope, quite clever actually.

Unless there is any damage to your property, then they sound like perfect guests.

JF

7 Likes

Really?
OK, up to you.

Homeless guests, sex workers and people using my place as storage. All perfect :rofl:

Think of them as just another everyday guest, with lots of luggage.

JF

5 Likes

I just went down and had a look. They left it in really good shape, so no harm done I guess.

7 Likes

That’s a tough one because they probably didn’t cost you much in terms of consumables, but in my experience, the chances of damage when moving an entire apartment’s worth of items is near 100%.