Going out of service, won't be able to respond to inquiries

Hi! We are just about to put our guesthouse and yurt up as a new posting, so I am new to all this. Later in the month we will be at a remote camp with no cell service for 4 days - about 10 days after I am planning to post. I am anxious to get our posting up there (autumn bookings in Vermont and all that :slight_smile: but I understand that my response time is important. Is there any kind of automated tool that let’s folks know when I will be back? Or if not, any advice on how to handle? Thank you!

You can ‘snooze’ your listing while you are away (see airbnb help centre for instructions on how to do this and quite a few other basics around managing your Airbnb).

Better still as you may have bookings by then, why not see if you can find a local host group where you live and see if they can recommend an experienced host there who you can pay to act as a co-host while you are away.

1 Like

I honestly wouldn’t list your rentals until you’re ready and able to devote your full attention to them.

I don’t know if the new host boost is still a thing (it’s a long time since I was a new host) but you can be incredibly busy in the first couple of weeks. For example, when our first listing went live, I had an inquiry before I’d even added the photographs - literally a minute after it had gone live. (He was a great guest too, who has become a regular).

In the first couple of weeks of having a live listing you can get bookings for the next six months - that’s too good to waste. So I’d not make your listings live until you can devote the time.

Also, what will happen if you have guests while you’re away?

8 Likes

I, too, am looking for an automated tool that lets me have my cake and eat it too.

I agree with Jaquo that it might be best to wait. If you do have a slip up and a bad review results it could really set you back for awhile. It’s a competitive market now, not like a VT yurt in 2016.

4 Likes