Extremely critical guests

I’m relatively new to Airbnb. It’s been about 3 months and I have 3 units. For the most part things are going well. I’ve been thinking a lot on this whole extremely picky and overly critical guest review issue. I spend a lot of time cleaning. Bedding is not more than 3 months and I have extra sets I rotate through. I’ve had a few guest knock me a star on cleanliness and I can’t even think of where the issue was. They didn’t say anything, just knocked the star. One guy did say a few things - one was dust in the corner (I move the furniture everytime I vacuum and wash floors. But after ready other people’s horror stories I’m wondering if there is a better way that Airbnb can monitor the over critical. Since they are so tough on hosts and track all of the details. Maybe there is a way to track guests review / star leaving. Ex: the guests last 5 reviews have been 4 stars or less to there host. Maybe they would lose there instant book abilities or something. I don’t know. I just think this whole system is a lot of pressure and it’s creating monster guests. The bar keeps getting set higher and higher and people are expecting everything for nothing.

7 Likes

It might be helpful to contact guests who lower a star for cleanliness and ask them what you can do to improve the cleaning. I do notice threads on here where hosts with older homes write they’ve lost a star or two for cleanliness. Some people oddly equate old or worn with unclean. Might that be the problem in your case?

7 Likes

Airbnb cleaning is not like household cleaning.