Booking Contract

I am new to hosting and havent had my first guests just yet. I have several bookings coming up in the near future. I recently received a request that they view my contract before they book. I have not made up a contract, didnt know if I should or not, wondering if the booking site rules and regulations are enough? I stressed to them they could read the rules and regulations on the booking site and she continued to tell me she wanted to see my contract. She also told me shes a realtor and full payment is not usually required upfront. For my future bookings they all paid the full amount up front so I dont know where this lady is coming from. She is insisting I show her my contract. I am really taken aback by this person. The next day I get another request from someone else on another site I am listed on and she’s also asking to read my contract. I feel these are two of the same people. Anyhow - should I make a contract aside from the booking protection? Any thoughts on this lady, she doesnt sound like a guest I want to deal with…

Are they booking through Airbnb?

Is she booking through AirBnB? Then that is her contract. Unless you’re renting for longer than 28 days. Then you need a lease.

Payment up-front is Air’s policy.

Call Customer Service and have them cancel her.

EDIT: If you’re booking on your own or through another service, this forum is for AirBnB hosts and it’s an international forum. We don’t know your local laws on STRs or LTRs.

2 Likes

@casailinglady - Even though this is an AirBnB forum, it’s not unusual or forbidden to discuss other booking methods than AirBnB.

@deej1103 - Many owners that rent out full properties require a contract in addition to the AirBnB rules. If this person usually rents out over VRBO or HomeAway where they have to sign a contract, then that might be why they asked.