Additional guest fees

I am somewhat new to this. What do you typically charge for additional guests? My space can sleep 4 but I have it set up for around 40 a night for up to 2 guests. What do you think is reasonable to charge for additional guests? Should I charge more than that for two? Also I had someone stay last night who last minute told me he was bringing a guest. I was okay with that except I would like to have known who the guest was. Is there a way to have the additional guest register on the site when this kind of thing happens?

I’ve charged anywhere from 0 to 10 USD. I experiment with my pricing and change frequently. My space only holds two but a second person uses resources, makes more noise, doubles the chances of stains, spills and every other kind of damage. I currently have my rate at $50 for two and no second person fee.

If I had a space big enough to fit four I’d charge more but it depends on the kind of listing. Is it a big room with a futon bed and bathroom down the hall or an entire self contained suite with kitchenette or what?

$40 a night for 3 people is way too low and may be for two as well.

1 Like

When the booking guest wants to add a person, you can do so by sending a Change to the reservation. Even if it is not an extra charge, you want it on the platform that there are two guests. They may or may not have an Airbnb profile. This is not required to have additional persons but it sure is handy when they do AND the booking guest links them to the reservation. You can also make it a House Rule, as I did, that you require the names of ALL the adults in the party BEFORE they check in. If you have self Check In, it can be before you give them the code or key.

3 Likes

The thing you need to work out @Jessica_MacAdam, is what that extra guest costs you. Our maximum is two and we don’t charge for extra guests because a) they’re going to have to sleep on the sofa and b) I don’t supply them with anything extra so the cost to me is nothing.