What's The Weirdest Introductory Guest Message You've Received?

Got this today. Made my skin crawl. Thankfully he canceled his request:

“Hello I have business in Key West but you must enjoy life also. Look forward to staying with you.” (name)

First, my home is a full day’s drive from Key West. Second, I’ve been hosting for a couple of years now and don’t use IB because my listing is a private room and bathroom in my home. As a single woman (and a Bengal cat), I like to find out the purpose of their stay and make sure they’re OK with the cat (guest areas shut off from cat and cleaned regularly). I want everyone to enjoy the stay. :slightly_smiling_face: … but not that much! :rofl:

This honestly looked like a singles ad and was pretty creepy and so was his photo. He did have 2 reviews as a guest (also hosts an RV, but no reviews), but they were very neutral. I’m just glad he withdrew his request.

What’s the weirdest intro message you’ve gotten?

I just read this as he is going to Key West and is stopping on his way in your town as part of an enjoyable leisurely drive. If someone wrote something awkward like that to me I would think that English was not their first language.

We live in a society where being a single lady and dealing with creeps are not mutually exclusive so you do what you have to do.

What did you say to him to get him to cancel his request?

Since I have IB I rarely get anything off but since they are separate from me (and have multiple dogs) I don’t worry much about my safety.

The most annoying was the person informing me that they need to park in my garage because they have a lot of valuable stuff in their car. That was a No. There was another guy who insisted after his arrival that he be allowed to park in the garage and he was annoying and some would have probably thought him nosy or rude but he wasn’t creepy, just demanding.

Well, not weird but turned out to be a load of BS. Here is the message