What should I do if I suspect my food is being used by my hosts?

Hi, this is my first time as a guest at a homestay (I guess that counts as Airbnb) and I’m running into a bit of a situation. I have a feeling my host is taking my food for herself because many times that I’ve put leftovers in the fridge or left them for a while on the stove, they’ve disappeared by the next morning and I was told that they spoiled and had to be thrown out. This past week, I went to another country and when I returned, a full litre of milk that I had just bought the previous week and the bit of iced tea I had left were gone and she told me she had to throw the milk out because it had spoiled (I really didn’t want to hear her explanation for the iced tea). My question is, even if she’s telling the truth (which I highly doubt), how would she have known any of my stuff was spoiled unless she was examining it by smelling or tasting it? And, if she was, why? It’s not her food and therefore shouldn’t concern her. Her story just doesn’t add up and it’s happened at least four times already.

Now, to be fair, she does oftentimes offer me her own food (even though I’m not paying for meals) and I have helped myself to some of her stuff at times, however only minimal amounts and I would never take a whole litre of milk if I had my own two litre bottle in the fridge or eat/throw out a whole container of something and then claimed it was spoiled. If she wants to take some of my food, I guess I should be okay with it, but it seems dishonest to me that she would keep telling me my food is spoiling when I know for a fact that’s extremely unlikely. What should I do in this situation?

The way I see it one of two things could be going on here.

1. Your host could be eating your food and be embarrassed to admit it.