What limitations for shared space when rented room is small?

I’m wondering what kind of limitations if any people have when they rent a room out in their home. I’ve been doing this for a couple months now and I’ve had about eight guess. Most people stay for two nights Max and are here to visit the community for a job interview or something. I just booked the guy who’s staying for a week and says that he’s just here to work locally and then move on. My rules state that the room is small but it does have a bed and a comfortable lounge chair and I said that you know a community rooms that are available include use of the kitchen, the TV room in the basement, and to sit at the kitchen table and eat. There is a living space that my daughter and I sit in that is basically two chairs that are very comfortable. I love sitting in my recliner and I treasure it. Anyway, my current guest is here for a week and he’s acting like he owns the place. He is rearranged things in my refrigerator and moved carpet around in the common living area and when I came back from being gone all day, he was sitting in my treasure recliner. He moved and then went and sat outside on the deck which is fine but I just feel like I’ve had to constantly remind him of what the shared spaces. Everyone else has always just stayed in their room and going out visited the community and it’s just odd cuz I feel like I have a new roommate without my consent. Should I amend my rules to state that they must stay in the rented room and only come out to use the kitchen or bathroom? That’s what I’m feeling I need to do. But it seems like it’s just really rude. I’m learning as I go and I don’t want to be a jerk about it but I’m such an introvert this is just a lot of change for me. Thanks for your insights

2 Likes

This is tough. Introverts sharing spaces with strangers. You can’t help but come off as rude when you demand your own space.