What did you do before you were an AirBnb host?

Hi,

I am an undergraduate at Durham University researching for my dissertation.

I am interested in finding out what Airbnb hosts did before they were hosts?
Is Airbnb now the sole source of your income or is it a supplement?
Is there anything you have had to give up as a result of becoming an Airbnb host?
Are you currently engaging in any other work streams alongside being an Airbnb host?

If you are able to offer any insight into any of these areas of interest that I have highlighted please respond to the thread! If you would prefer to message privately please feel free to reach out. Any information I can collect is extremely useful and I would be really grateful if you could take some time to answer some of the questions!

Many Thanks,
Aashni Patel

I was a high school teacher for 28 years. At about year 26 I began boarding dogs in my home. At year 27 I started doing Airbnb with my guest room. It was going well so I retired early at year 28 instead of at year 30 as I’d planned. Airbnb is supplement as is dog boarding, my primary income is my pension. Hosting sometimes interferes with my social life but not often enough to be a real problem.

5 Likes

Though I have a background in hospitality- ran bed & breakfasts- I have been a stay home mom for 7 years now. This supplements the income my husband earns. I also bake and flip furniture as well nowadays. I havent had to give anything up to run our Airbnb.

3 Likes

Retired Technical Writer and also a Personal Chef. Social Insecurity, Airbnb and the occasional chef gig are my income. Haven’t given up a thing to Host; gain a LOT!

4 Likes

Real estate broker using Air as one of many platforms to manage my investment property.

RR

2 Likes

Pattern maker in the fashion industry. Technical design for production dept. Clothing manufacture. Ready to give up my freelance part time position if Tiny Tiki Trailer Zone does well.