Utility room facility

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie starting out on the air bnb journey and will add my house for guests commencing this spring. We have a well maintained & lovely large property enough for up to 12 guests. The intention is to let the house exclusively. A friends flat nearby is mostly available (she lives abroad & doesn’t rent it out) for a small fee so we can move out during the let. My question is regarding the utility room which houses the washing machine and tumble drier. I am adding all sorts of extras to make the experience appealing but my thoughts are I really want to lock the utility room due to the possible huge costs if for example a large group of guests all decided to wash & dry their clothes before leaving & on a regular basis. I’m also concerned a lack of a utility room could put guests off booking. I’d appreciate some thoughts on this & thanks in advance.

If it’s a large luxury type property and stays typically longer than 3 days I would allow use of laundry. You just have to price it so that you don’t take a big loss. So raise the cost per day, or the cleaning fee or the per person charge. Seriously, guests doing some laundry for a longer stay is huge help and was included in the price the multi million dollar properties ($800 a day) I stayed in over the last 2 years.

3 Likes

Consider your story “hey please come rent our entire house - your exclusive use … but no laundry allowed”?

Running a load of laundry costs between $0.25 - $0.50, unless your utilities are exceptionally expensive.

Spills and stains happen. People booking for even a few days will often want to run a quick load while traveling.

You basically have to choose between including access to laundry for free - or putting a jar there with “please deposit $1 per load” or something equally tacky.