"upsells" to increase average guest price

Hey everyone,

My name is Garin, I’m a web designer and Airbnb addict from Oregon.

A while back I read an article about a guy who made $250k/year driving for Uber. His secret was that he sold jewelry to his guests- he always had a necklace hanging from the rear view mirror and catelogues in the backseat pockets.

I started thinking if that would be possible to do with Airbnb. Maybe you could upsell gift baskets, prepared meals, local wine, or even get paid commissions for selling tours, activities, or car rentals.

I created a sample website that includes a payment gateway. This way you could use the site for marketing, or answering common guest questions, but also making these upsells and processing payments. You can see it here: garinetch.com/airbnb.

As hosts, what do you think of this idea? Would it be useful for your Airbnb business? Feel free to share any feedback you have. Thanks!

-Garin

2 Likes

Airbnb already thought of this it’s called Airbnb experiences."

Some forum members here have already posted that they do this. Since there are already many payment options available like cash, check, credit card readers, paypal and others it’s hard to see what unique service you are offering.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback! I thought having it on a website would make it more convenient. For example you could have 4 gift baskets on the site, a guest could pick one and pay on the site, and then it would be waiting for them at the property when they arrived. That way you wouldn’t have to have inventory in the home that made it feel like a store, and you wouldn’t have to go through the awkward process of handling payment in person. But those were all just assumptions so I really appreciate your input. Maybe those aren’t problems after all and this wouldn’t be a big benefit.

1 Like