Tankless water heater

I’m considering a tankless water heater system. It will be significantly more expensive upfront but will last longer and be more energy efficient. I know these are common in Europe but usually in a smaller space.

Anyone have one of these systems in a home with an Airbnb who has any opinions about whether to install one or not?

I have some experience. Not in an Airbnb, though.

Gas or Electric?
Whole home or just one room (kitchen or bath)?

Gas. Whole home to replace the tank I currently have.

We really wanted them and I looked into them quite extensively. Our utilites company even offers a great rebate for installing them. However, because of local code and the installation they require it will be quite a project for us - we would have to have new gas lines installed, etc so we haven’t done it but everyone I know that has them, raves about them.

1 Like

We have a tankless water heater in the addition I put on the house. It’s where one of the Airbnb bathrooms is. Works great!

Ours uses gas. It was installed as the new addition was built.

From what I learned when I later tried to replace the other traditional water heater in our house, it’s much more expensive to install a tankless gas water heater in the middle of a structure. And it can require an increase in gas service that could be very, very expensive.

Lots to check out with an HVAC contractor and possibly with the gas service before considering whether to switch an existing gas water heater to a gas tankless water heater.

We chose not to replace the original water heater with tankless, as the installation was going to be upwards of $20,000.

No idea about costs in US, but every country where we’ve been involved in property refurbishment, this is the type of water heater we always install if there is a mains gas supply. If it’s the type I’m thinking about, looks a bit like this: