Smart Pricing Does not work as described

I’m fairly new to hosting on Airbnb. I’ve discovered that the pricing on my listing may show a higher price in a search but is never charged more than the minimum. I’ve talked to three different CS reps and they say there is nothing wrong. Here is my last response to their claim that nothing is wrong.

****No, it doesn’t clear anything up. If one traveler searches and finds a price of $69/night and another traveler searches and finds a price of $92/night for the same listing, and both calculate at the lower minimum price of $55/night, it is not working right. The prices shown in a traveler search are not accurate, so I can’t even use that as a guide to manually set prices (which I do not want to have to do). Every reservation I’ve had has been calculated and charged at my min price, even though the smart pricing is higher. And appears to be doing the same in the other listings I’ve checked. Smart pricing is not working as it is described (automatically adjusting both the price offered and price charged). It should be adjusting the nightly price in the search and in the amount charged. I’m going to go on the host chat to see if other hosts agree that this is false and misleading information.

The other rep I talked with (I think his name was Ace) said he was going to forward this issue to the tech team. I would like to know what they have to say about it.*****

Any one have advise on how to get smart pricing to work as it is described?

I’m afraid not because I’ve used it for years and it’s always been fine. But it bothers me when you say:

In order for SP to ‘learn’ about your rental and your area (and thus your pricing) you have to set some of your dates manually in order to ‘train’ the system. With hosts all over the world, it needs you to ‘teach’ it about your particular area and your rental.