Short term property insurance does not cover infrequent minor labor help

I hire a senior citizen about twice a year to help me with fall winter yard prep and spring property clean up. One day each season. Once in a blue moon another day maybe mid summer.
Pay him in cash, have been hiring him for years at prior properties I lived on (no short term rental, just small farms)
Someone mentioned, did I have workman’s comp? Uh…no…I don’t hire anyone, and if I hire a construction person, they have to have their own workman’s comp or be exempt, per Tn state law. It’s not the ‘homeowner’s responsibility’. Well, I’m finding out I am not technically a ‘homeowner’, but I am ‘in business’…even tho I live on the property along with my tiny cabin…and being that I had to purchase special ‘short term rental insurance’ and it does not cover anyone getting hurt on the property that YOU ARE PAYING.so …Have 2 ml in business and h/o liability but it specifically exempts anyone being paid…Without the tiny cabin vacation rental, I’d be a regular homeowner who would be covered for landscaping/yard help through the homeowner’s policy…
Buying a comp policy costs $700/yr and I am paying him about $300/year…maybe…so doesn’t make sense. Learned all this today from CBIZ who has my homeowners/short term rental policy and my regular carrier (for my cars and normal long term rentals)…

I do not think he’d ever come after me if he got hurt (and does NOT operate any of my machinery, like tractor or mower or chainsaw)…He weedeats fencelines and helps me gather brush into piles, or digs holes for trees…and he’s awesome and it would be hard on me to not have him those two or three times a year. BUT…any thoughts on this pickle out there??? What would YOU do??

Sometimes I think ignorance IS bliss and I wish I had never had the question brought to me!

1 Like

Ask him what insurance he is carrying