SERVICE DOG application

I’ve been approached about renting my two roon London Notting Hill(i.e. city) flat to a couple with a trained service dog. I’d be grateful for some rules I can send as I have no dog and not the experience/imagination to think up the damage possible? Can I charge extra for the dog?

No, you can not charge nor can you deny. (At least in the USA). A true service dog (not an emotional support animal) won’t cause you any trouble. They are extremely well trained.

The one thing that you can say is that since it is a service dog, they dog must always be with it’s owner and not left in the home alone.

1 Like

@muddy has posted here Airbnb’s rules.

I wonder whether you might send the couple this message:

"I am delighted to be your host and your dog’s but want to make sure that you are familiar with Airbnb rules. They are:

• A guest’s service animal must not be:
    • Out of control
    • Unhousebroken
    • Left alone at the listing without prior approval
    • Allowed into areas that are considered unauthorized to the guest
    • Allowed in a public space without being harnessed, leashed, or tethered and not under the guest’s control."

I’m a dog lover myself and know that service dogs are very well trained. Note that our House rules subject a violation of Airbnb’s service animal rules to be immediate cancellation without refund and a fine for any damages that are caused by the animal. Just a heads up. Please acknowledge by a return message that you’re OK with this."

So, then I would amend your rules now (before sending the message) to incorporate that language in your rules.

Also, if possible, I would install a camera, like a Ring doorbell cam, so that you can see whether the dog is being left alone.

I saw this in a group for hosts in the USA.

Do I think it is appropriate for all situations-NO. But it is something to think about.

From the post:
Send this to anyone who has a “service animal” upon booking