Renting to dog owners. Your thoughts?

Hello forum users.

I’d love to gather feedback on allowing dogs. Do you? Have you?

Good experiences? Bad?
Tips? Hard earned lessons?
Any size or breed restrictions? If yes, why?

Thank you in advance for your replies!

I have been allowing dogs for the past 6 years. I am in a South Carolina beach area and I was getting a lot of requests so I decided to give it a try.

I screen out aggressive and shedder breeds and puppies. I allow up to 2 dogs and charge $20 per dog per night. I do sometimes discount that. I also charge a $400 “good care” deposit against damage or excessive cleaning (and I have used it). Luckily, when I had re-carpeted I bought commercial wall to wall and it is fairly bullet proof. I keep a bottle of pet stain treatment under the sink and I tell them to use it. I also rent one of those rug cleaning machines from the hardware store twice a year. I also require them to be on some sort of flea/tick treatment. I think I charge a high enough rent plus the pet fee and damage deposit to discourage the less responsible pet owners.

I would not recommend allowing dogs if you have high end floor coverings or a really high end place in general.

I am in a very competitive market for high season and generally few of my competitors allow dogs so that gives me a little edge in low season as well. In 2015 the pet fees were equal to an extra weekly high season rental.

1 Like

Thanks KIKC. How do you know if a dog is aggressive or a shredder? Do you ask for pet resume, etc?

I have hardwood floors and washable carpets, so I don’t worry too much. I also provide fleecies to put on the furniture if a dog is allowed to sit on furniture usually. It’s rare that I have any problems with pets, but not being carpeted is probably why.

Btw, how do you add the charge for pets? I can’t a way to do that on the system.

You can google for aggressive or shedding breeds.