Remedies for unrentable unit due to smoking

I’m new to it all, so please be patient. We just started renting our newly constructed guest house. We have had a few interesting stays, but not real issues. This past week, back to back, we had 2 sets of bad guests. The most recent checked out today. We have a 760 sq ft loft, non smoking. I’m not sure the man ever left, it seems as if he smoked all day, all night. The cleaners were the first to contact us about the intense marijuana smell, and that nothing they did helped. On the way home, I picked up an air purifier, and when I got there, realized it was not going to do the trick. We have now scheduled a professional cleaner. We had to cancel tomorrow’s booking, as the cleaning will take 3 days. We are now out 2 nights, and potentially this weekends as well if the cleaning takes longer. We work through a 3rd party, who has insurance for the cleaning, but what about the lost reservations? Can we go after the bad guest?

Smoke “smell” is a tricky one, because you can’t prove a smell, nor photograph it, so the guest can just deny that they smoked inside. If there is evidence in the form of ashes or marijuana roaches or cigarette butts inside, photographing that could help.

You can file a claim for extra cleaning by a professional, the cost of an air purifier you had to buy to deal with it, but you won’t get compensated for the lost reservations.

And there is never any assurance that you will get paid. If the guest refuses to pay (and the reality is that guests who ignore house rules are not the type to agree to pay for the aftermath), you have to file an Aircover claim with Airbnb, which can be more time, trouble, and aggravation than it’s worth for minor damages or extra cleaning.