Really pissed at my guests

I’ve been hosting for about 7 months and have had close to 30 guests within that span. For the most part I have had a good hosting experience. I realize that not all people live the way I live and I let most small things that I disagree with go. Last night my guest really made me upset.

I live in northern NJ and the guest was driving to me from Canada, my check in time is 5pm, at 4pm I message him that the room is ready. He responds back that he is still in Canada and just hitting the road. Considering the fact that he initially told me that he would be arriving at 7pm I knew that he was going to get in really late. So now I’m getting agitated because I’m not a hotel and arriving super late on a Sunday evening for someone who has to work on a Monday I think is borderline rude.

Fast forward to midnight and the guest finally arrives, I should mention that he booked for 2 guests and in my house rules I have a maximum of 2 guests allowed on the property. Well here is this guy at midnight arriving with two other people saying he needs a favor and he needs a place for his buddy to sleep.

At this point I’m boiling inside, my street especially at midnight on a sunday night is very quiet, and even normal talking voices sound like yelling at that hour so as politely as I could told the man there is no space for a 3rd man. I told him you booked a room, not an entire place. He starts with “it’s late and its just for one night”.

How did that become my problem is what I thought in my head.

He agreed to my house rules upon booking which state a maximum of two guests. My extra person charge is $10.00 and I charge it to discourage 2nd guests as I prefer solo travelers.

I think I just feel taken advantage of, He’s booked through Wednesday, Monday evening when I return from work, I will check the room and if I feel that 3 occupants are still there I think I will get Air involved and ask him to leave.