Questions for UK hosts only please :)

Hi

I’m new in the airbnb world and setting up my first airbnb property. I have a question for other UK hosts as the cultural difference between UK and USA/Canada means answers from America aren’t so applicable. (Although obviously Americans can answer as what they would like as visiting guests but that just gets confusing. I’d rather just know what other UK hosts provide).

1. Beds. Do you have the British style of bedding i.e. a mattress cover and a duvet (with duvet cover)? Or is it better to have a hotel style (which is more like the American style) of a flat sheet followed by one or two blankets and no duvet?

2. Coffee. Is it necessary to provide fresh coffee beans and/or a fancy coffee maker/grinder or is it ok to provide instant coffee, maybe sachets of different varieties i.e. mochas, cappuccinos, espressos etc.
    I’m an avid tea drinker and have never drunk coffee in my life so I’m really stuck on this one.

3. Do you have to provide a washing machine to your guests? Mine is situated in a utility/storage room which I plan to keep locked when I have guests staying as it’s going to be where I store everything + personal items.

4. How do you deal with letters coming through your letterbox i.e. utility bills etc. Do you just trust your guests to put them aside for you and not open them? Obviously you can arrange for mail to go elsewhere and for paperless bills etc but there’s always going to be something that comes through the door occasionally…

5. Do guests expect the place to be cleaned/fresh towels + sheets given daily? Or is this something that’s different for every airbnb and it’s up to me to state? If so what do you do?

Just to add - thank you very much for any replies to this.

And also, I will be vacating the property during guest stays so they will be having the whole place and I won’t be present.

Hi @HostWithTheToast,