Paranoid Guests and other Red Flags

So I rent out the extra bedroom in my place and I’ve been doing this for about 3 years. For some of you, that may not sound like a long time, but it’s been long enough that I can get a pretty good idea if a living situation is going to work out or not. One of the red flags I’ve noticed for someone I don’t want to live with, is just straight paranoia. “You’re a stranger” or “Why do you want to friend me on social media?” or accepting my phone number, but not giving me theirs (This is after we’ve met. I only do extended stay, and I meet everyone beforehand). Has anyone else experienced these signs of paranoia with incoming guests and referenced this behavior to being a potentially poor living situation? Alot of the women that room with me are close to my age and have never lived with strangers before. One out of 5 in my experience have this sense of paranoia, while the other 4/5 are pretty chill.

So my question is, has anyone else experienced this as being a red flag? Do you let it subside or just not engage with them?
Also, what are some other red flags you look for in potential guests?

What do you mean, “living situation?” Are these guests staying longer than a month?

When you book a guest, the phone number is right there on the reservation. So I’m not sure I’m following you.

1 Like

So before they book it, I meet them up for coffee or lunch. This way we can get to know each other’s personalities to see if we would be a good fit. Yes, longer than a month.

Well… not really sure what to tell you.
If you read here a lot you know our stance on long term bookings. This is not really a good platform for that and is a road full of land mines. I just wouldn’t do it.

It’s a quasi violation of the TOS to exchange information (I.e., meeting for coffee first) before booking. Not sure how you are doing that without getting flagged.