No show requesting half refund

Dear Forum, this is my first time to post here. I am confronted with the situation and not sure what to respond. My guest booked last minute and I accommodate. They didn’t show up and text me the next day requesting if I can wire them half the booking fee amount for them to go to a cheap motel.

1 Like

They booked, they paid, then decided not to avail themselves of the accommodation.

You’re under no obligation to refund.

Forget it and move on to your next guest.

JF

7 Likes

Don’t wire them anything! It might be a scam in which they get money from you and then they contact Airbnb and get a full refund. Remember that you have not received the payout for that booking. Tell them to contact Airbnb if they wish to get a refund.

6 Likes

Please don’t wire them anything. This sounds like a scam and, even if it isn’t, they should take everything - including all communication with you - through the Airbnb platform. They booked through Airbnb so it would be your best interest to let them handle it. I would upload that text to the platform and message them through the platform that all communication must go through Airbnb’s messaging.

Be cautious and safe.

6 Likes

Thank you so much for this advice, I will follow it.

2 Likes

Thank you for opening my eyes on this. I will follow through

2 Likes

@Pelthia_Makgatho - welcome to the forum!

3 Likes

ABSOLUTELY NOT.

This is a scam, report them to Airbnb.

Never, ever wire money to anyone you don’t know personally.

5 Likes

Report them to Airbnb at once. Do not refund a penny. If they contact you again, ignore them.

4 Likes

DO NOT REFUND! DO NOT EVEN REPLY. Report them to AirBnB immediately.

YOU DO NOT REFUND ANYONE ANYTHING> That’s AirBnb’s job – part of the reason they get a percentage of each stay.

3 Likes

I want to enforce what others have said. This is most likely a scam.