New to hosting! Have a question for you experienced hosts

Hi all - I am new to hosting and have my first people coming tomorrow. Yeah! My question for all of you is this - when setting up the requirements I allowed people with no ratings/reviews to book, I got a notice that a person who lives close by (less than 20 miles) booked with me for mid-October. I thought that was odd so I googled her name. She just turned 20 and has an assault charge against her. The victim has a restraining order that she cannot come within 500 feet of him. She pled it down to a disorderly conduct and got by with a fine that she has not paid. She has no ratings/reviews and told me she is coming for a homecoming weekend. I looked it up and the college where she lived when she had the assault charge against her is having their homecoming that weekend. In the town where her address shows that she lives now. So it makes no sense that she would come to stay here when she actually lives in the town where the homecoming is. So now I want to cancel and I am afraid that AirBnb will hold the cancellation against me. Like I said I am just getting started and feel certain I will have good feedback when my people coming this weekend leave on Sunday. What is the proper course of action here? I am distrustful of her because her story does not make sense and the fact that she has not paid the fine for this assault charge. I really want to not allow it because of this distrust. This is my home, not a separate building. Thanks for your help and input!!! So appreciate it!!!

CALL Airbnb. Explain the information you’ve discovered about this guest, just as you’ve described it above. If you don’t get a satisfactory answer (we’ll cancel for you) ask to speak to that person’s supervisor and keep escalating until they cancel her.

If all else fails, just cancel the Guest anyway. One of the questions you’ll get is WHY? Just respond with “Not comfortable with this Guest.”

1 Like