New to Airbnb - laundry issues

Good evening. I am new to Airbnb and I have some questions regarding cleaning services. Do you usually hire someone to clean who gets payed by percentage depending on your booking? Or. Do you have someone who cleans and gets payed by hour.

Also, is it better to have a washing machine in the apartment for the cleaner or should they take it to their house? Then you have to pay their electricity and theirs services. I don’t live in the same city and I cannot do it at my house or else I would

Thank you!!!

We pay our housekeeper a flat daily rate that amounts to $25 an hour. I’ve read that some hosts here negotiate a flat rate with their cleaners and others, an hourly rate.

I think it would be better to have the laundry facilities at the Airbnb apartment. If not, your cleaner would also have transport time to consider. And you might need to have more than three sets of everything because of the extra transport time involved. With laundry on site, I think three sets of all bedding and towels is sufficient (not that you asked that).

As far as I know, most cleaners who handle cleaning between guests do the laundry while they clean.

1 Like

I pay my cleaners by the hour. I have laundry facilities at the AirBnB and the cleaner does the laundry while they clean.

Everyone is different. I do all my own cleaning and laundry. If you have a washer/dryer in the apartment, gust are going to want to use it to (and will use it, probably without asking).

I’ve not heard of anyone paying a cleaner by ‘percentage’. It’s the same cleaning job regardless of how long the guests stay, so percentage of booking makes no sense to me.

1 Like

I do my own cleaning.

Without knowing a lot more about your rental including the nation you live in and the labor market there I don’t think anyone could tell you much of value.

2 Likes