New Host Frustration

I am new to Airbnb and have listed my guest room/bath. Our second guest checked in yesterday. The first one went smoothly and we barely knew he was there.

Perhaps I should have heeded the warning signs. This guest emailed me and asked to see the room first (no), then asked if I could send pictures. I asked what kind of pictures? He said he wanted pictures of the room. I asked him, “Like the ones on my listing?” and cancelled his inquiry, asking him to please read my listing fully as I put a lot of effort into conveying all the information there. I hoped that would be the end of it.

Well, it wasn’t. He booked six nights with us and I accepted. He checked in yesterday and has been totally picky and neurotic ever since. He wanted me to clear out a shelf in our pantry for his peanut butter, he wanted an extra light bulb in the bathroom (not a big deal), but then he asked my husband if we didn’t have a different kind of light bulb and then had my husband switching the light bulb arrangement around for him under his direction. This morning, I swear I heard him using my vacuum. When asked how his night was, he complained it was too hot when he went to bed and too cold when he woke up. I just feel that for the amount he paid for a clean, quiet, safe accommodation, he is being entirely too particular! I am counting the days left (unfortunately five more) until he checks out and wondering what kind of strange request/quirk will come out next.

My idea was to offer a very affordable option for people, mostly on business, to crash in our guest room. I am not trying to offer anything resembling a luxury hotel, nor does my listing imply that I am. But if this guy leaves a bad review I may just stop this adventure with Airbnb as I am still under 14 days out of the year as far as taxes go.

Just needed to vent my frustration. Maybe I am not cut out for this?

2 Likes