My first semi night mare tenant

So I have been hosting for 4 years now. About 100 reviews, 4.8 average stars across the board. Super host. Not one negative review.

A women from FL books my place, 7 days at $780 a day. Peak season. Two weeks prior she cancels the reservation then send me a message when she does not get a full refund. I explain to her she cancelled too late, that she only gets half back.

She tells me she now has 5 people and they wont fit in the unit. I tell her that i am not going to reinstate the reservation, because my place does not hold 5. After some back and forth, she says there will only be 4.

A week before the arrival she contacts me again. He son is very allergic to smoke, and we have a wildfire that is raging 20 miles from town. She does not want to put her son at risk. I tell her there is no smoke in the area, the fire is getting pushed north and east. where the prevailing winds blow.

So she shows up, the place is not clean enough for her. I have my cleaning people come in again to touch up.

Fast forward to today, i get an email claiming that she has two bites on her, and they they are bed bugs. I dont even know where to begin. The pixs look nothing like bed bugs. Plus there are only two bites. Bed bugs usually will decimate your body, and leave blood on the sheets.

I am getting an exterminator in there tomorrow, to appease her.

Just thinking about the review i will get, as well as the one i am going to give her.

Any input on if i should pro actively call Airbnb?

It’s a bit unclear, so after she cancelled you reinstated the reservation? How did you do it? Did she make a new request?

Sorry to hear you got one of the ‘entitled’ Floridians. @jaquo and I can guarantee that not all Floridians are that weird!

I hop all your communications with her have been through Air messages so that you have a trail of what has been said and done.

I’d hold off contacting Air until the bitter end.

1 Like