Latest scams ref unauthorized guests and animals

So I had a lying guest show up claiming his previous host had canceled him due to double booking. It was he, his mom and his uncle and their dog (a sweet pibble) in my 2 BR whole house listing. Turns out he has two unauthorized guests and an unauthorized dog. I make the claim for the $20/additional person on the listing and $50 unauthorized person fees in the House Rules as well as the $25 unhouse trained pet fee (since I have no knowledge of whether the $15 house trained pet fee should apply) and the $50 unauthorized pet fee both of which are in the House Rules. So total Resolution Center Request is $215 and of course he inkers it and doesn’t respond. I get Airbnb involved.

Then the review publishes from the original host who says that the guy canceled because he didnt realize it was just a bedroom (albeit he listing has two beds and is a HUGE room) and gives him 5 stars. I hadn’t gotten to leave any review as I had been dealing with a new stage 4 pancreatic cancer diagnosis in my BF.

So after me hounding the CS several times because they don’t bother to follow up for weeks I am awarded $100 for the unauthorized person fines only. With the other fees not paid because:

1. The listing fee of $20/person over 1 do not get charged to people that do not spend the night, even though it states this in the House Rules

2. The guest is claiming that the pet was actually a Service Animal and thus Airbnb will not speak anything more about it or charge anything. We all know this is a lie but they won’t even ask the two legal questions about it.

1 Like

I am very sorry to hear this. Everything else in our worlds is insignificant compared to an ailing loved one.

7 Likes

@PuppyLover Thanx. Today is his 56th birthday.

3 Likes

Something special planned???

Trying to take him tonight to VA Beach for some adaptive surfing with the Wounded Warrior Project tomorrow.

3 Likes