How many sheets and quilt covers can they possibly ruin?!

I have been hosting on Airbnb for almost 2 years now and I find that I am buying endless amounts of sheets and quilt covers due to guests staining them. I buy dark coloured bedding, like greys and browns but I keep getting this noticeable big dark oil looking stains on them. Not sure what it is. Does anyone know how to get rid of these stains? Should I only be purchasing black bedding from now on?
Any advice would be amazing x

Sounds like some sort of “personal” lubricant - have you rubbed the stain with dish detergent?

I was thinking it might be that. I have not but thanks for the tip, I will give it a go:)

OxyClean ™ will take out most stains… Black will show more stains than white sheets!

3 Likes

I have heard OxyClean is pretty good, I will try that also.

I have had more luck with my black quilt cover than any of the other colours. In saying that what colours does everyone recommend?

1 Like

I prefer white sheets. My most common stains are small blood spots and they come right out with hydrogen peroxide. I think they give an impression of clean which is reassuring for guests.

4 Likes

I’ve tried some light colors like gray and beige but overall white sheets and towels are best. I do have thin brightly colored cover that can easily be washed but if it gets a dark stain I won’t be able to use clorine bleach on it.

We use middle blue and middle gray sheets. Comforters are patterned off white with seashells and such in medium blue to go with our Florida Keys beach theme.

Another vote for Oxyclean here. Also for white linens and towels - if stains are really bad you can bleach them. Although it (bleach) does ruin them eventually. I’ve also discovered the wonders of white vinegar - not so much for stain removal (thought it can work in conjunction with other stuff) but for washing towels to keep them soft and absorbent.

6 Likes

@ld89