House Rules questions

What are the most important house rules you have posted and printed? Please share. I am new to this.

I have hardly anything in the way of house rules myself, because my listing is a private room in my home, so guests can’t get away with much.

But some common ones are:
No parties or events
No unregistered guests or visitors
No pets
No children
No smoking (or smoking in designated outdoor area only)
Quiet hours XX-YY

Of course if you do accept pets and/or children or allow smoking you wouldn’t have those rules, and hosts also have rules that may be unique to their listing, like no parking on the lawn, no outside shoes in the house (if a host has carpeting) , etc.

And house rules often get added to as time goes on, as hosts can’t anticipate everything they may need to make a rule about, assuming that they wouldn’t need to tell guests that, but find they do.

1 Like

I have only two - no smoking and no parties.

People tend to act like civilised human beings so don’t need extensive rules in my experience. I’m right on the spot though.

2 Likes

Do you have this in print as well? Or just on the listing?

I appreciate it!

Not sure what you mean “in print”. But it’s always a good idea to make sure that prospective guests have read and agree to your house rules, which is something you can do through messaging with the guests when they book or request to book.

And it certainly doesn’t hurt to have a reminder house rule sheet in the unit itself.

Some hosts have a huge list of house rules and say it has led to better behaved guests, some hosts have very few rules and feel it’s a turn-off for guests to see a lengthy list of rules.

Personally if I saw a really long list of house rules, I might pass on that listing, not because I wasn’t willing to comply with them, but because it would seem like the host was intent on micromanaging everything about a guest’s stay.