Help - Guests demand refund for their grocery bill

Hello Dear Members,

I am new to STR as was LT Landlord since 2003. Converted over officially in January of this year. This is my first nightmare tenant. Maybe my perception is skewed due to having been a LT Landlord for so long…

This client moved in August 1 with two adults, baby and a dog - local residents of Phoenix who are awaiting their home to complete. I met the husband on the day of check-in. He had trouble with my Igloo lock… still does. Can’t seem to download the app right or use the bluetooth key provided. Wife also Neve uses the key provided in in a timely way to not have the key code expire.

After three full days, they finally actually full move in. I went to bed that night a bit early as needed to be up at 3 AM. Husband was apparently angry and sending me texts messages even up to 1:30 AM about the house being too hot. Finally resolved this issue by Deleting Eco Smart Settings and Unlocking low control so he can set it to 65 if he wants at this point. It’s been 72 mostly since.

Then I get another text that my refrigerator is noisy and that his groceries have condensation on them. The door is slightly bent and need make sure it is closed properly - no slamming. The noise and condensation sometimes appearing bothered him. Ice maker works, cooling works, freezer works. Well, I ended up buying a new one. Give him notice day before delivery and day of before 8 AM. He said he was too busy getting his daughter up to notice text messages and was angry he had to empty the contents so quickly. I had a bag of ice for him in the freezer. It was not enough he said to prevent his frozen items from thawing and being ruined. He told me they went grocery shopping on Wednesday (four days before) and bought $123 worth of groceries and for their inconvenience of the 15 minute frig swap and that it took a bit of time for the frig to get cold, he wants me to pay 100% of groceries.