Guests with too many questions?

I’m still new to hosting (20 guests) and so far so good. But I have a guest coming in two weeks and they keep sending me a few questions/week (they booked 4 months ago!!!), most of them are answered in the listing. I am really worried what they’ll be like in the house since they are already giving me a headache. I manage a remote ski cabin remotely and neither me nor the house are set up for high maintenance guests. These guests are getting the deal of a century, they were one of my first bookings, I didn’t know what I was doing and my prices were waaaay too low + I didn’t do any screening. Does anyone have a trick to make them realize that they should a) be happy with what they have and b) read the listing instead of asking me about everything? A trick for me to just get through this will work too :slight_smile:

“Your question is answered in the listing. Please read it.”

3 Likes

It comes with the territory. I would not immediately assume they will be high maintenance. (Although they could be). Had a recent guest with a million post booking questions. I didn’t hear from the at all during their stay.

3 Likes

When you answer a question that is clearly in the listing, be very polite and include a link to the listing and tell them the heading/section/etc. where they can find it. I’ve found that guests usually apologize after you do that once or twice.

2 Likes

I agree with Brandt, it comes with the territory.

You need to put that front and center in your listing.

Look we all want to sit back, do as little as possible and rake in the dough but that’s not the way it works.

Realize that you can’t control everything and relax with your method of choice: music, meditation, wine or a pipe. LOL.

3 Likes

Thank you all!!! It helps just to hear that this is part of the job and others know what I’m talking about. I have no one to talk to about this :slight_smile:

1 Like

You can sit with us.

12 Likes

This.