Guests leaving review

Hi,

For guests with whom I’ve had great interactions and who I think liked our place (they said so), I leave a great review and follow-up in a couple of days with a text message with something like “I enjoyed hosting you! if you liked your stay, a review would be much appreciated!”. Some guests respond back with a review; others don’t bother.

I find it a little odd why guests who claim they had a great time, don’t bother to write a review, especially when they know I’ve written them a good review. Of course, no one’s obligated to write a review, but if they really liked their stay as much as they said, it only takes 5 minutes… :slight_smile:

I’m new to this and so reviews help a lot and am wondering how you handle situations like these. I don’t want to nag the guests, but at the same time do appreciate it if they take the effort to review.

Thanks!

Don’t nag the guests - Airbnb does that for you :slight_smile:
Some guests will leave reviews and others just don’t. It’s a fact of life.

3 Likes

Never underestimate the power of human laziness. :slight_smile: It’s not one of the seven deadly sins for nothing.

3 Likes

True @faheem !

There sometimes are guests who don’t realise the importance of reviews for hosts, even though they are lovely guests and want to return. Airbnb and its systems are new to them.

And we never know what’s going on in our guests’ lives. A few months ago I hosted the most wonderful couple who absolutely adored the place. But on their last night here, they heard the sad news of a family bereavement.

Do doubt when they got home, writing a review for us as hosts was the last thing on their minds.

We’ve had plenty of guests who have used our rental as the first stop on a two, three or four week road trip. They are constantly travelling and excited about their vacation so leaving a review is not on the top of their list of priorities.