Guests leaving door unlocked

Hi All,

I’ve been hosting for four years and recently have had a slew of guests leaving the door unlocked. It is in my listing and house rules four separate times to lock the door. Most of the time guests are letting themselves in so the door is locked and key in the lock box from their own private entrance. Sometimes they return the key to the lock box but still leave the door unlocked. They have a private entrance which is a feature of the listing and this is the door they are leaving unlocked. I’ve threatened a fee charged for breaking house rules and still came home after two days to a guest I never met leaving the house unlocked while knowing I was out of town. Any suggestions? I can’t do a self locking system without replacing the entire door as it is an old house and original door. I just want guests to use the key! I think I’m going to make signs for the door. I tell guests I see in person to lock and check the door but it doesn’t matter and still gets left unlocked. I’ve been hosting for years and never had this problem until now. Am I doing something wrong? Are guests just less courteous than they used to be? I live in a city so I know I’m eventually going to come home and find out I was robbed. Is there any way to charge a fee or security deposit to guests that do not follow house rules and leave the door unlocked? I’ve noticed the cautious guests that I would neve need rules for always make sure to tell me the door is locked when they leave so I know someone is seeing all the warnings. I’m at a loss for what to do with the rest.