Guests and theft

Just curious, I have been hosting since June this year and never had any major incidents only minor thefts which really is annoying! Apart from the odd guests who take ALL complimentry toiletries and teas, coffees and snacks they haven’t used just take because they feel they have ‘‘paid’’ for them, Its other items such as Bed sheets, Bath towels, Tea Towels, Cleaning Products and more recently (today) the kitchen scissors!! Why?!
Bizarrely all these guests whom have taken things are from BDC…am guessing because I can’t pubicly review them!
What’s been the oddest thing 'taken from your property?

I use Airbnb exclusively (apart from long-time repeat guests) and I don’t think I’ve ever had anything stolen. I’ve had one or two minor things disappear over the years but I’ve assumed that has been accidental.

4 Likes

I’ve been hosting since May 2014. I’ve had around 500 guests. The oddest thing was someone took a pillow out of a sham and put their yucky old pillow in. I didn’t discover it right away because there is also a zippered pillow protector then the sham. I don’t launder the protector every time, only the sham. I also had a reusable glass water bottle taken. When I asked the guest they readily admitting taking and reminding me the guest guide did say “complimentary water bottles in the fridge.” I hadn’t changed the wording when I changed from plastic to glass, so I fixed that. Another one was taken after that but it inself was a recycled Tazo tea bottle and maybe it just seemed like a disposible item. Anything else “taken” like a toothbrush or coffee packet was meant to be used.

I have no explanation for why my stuff doesn’t get taken or ruined.

1 Like

I’ve had a couple hand towels taken and a hot pad holder from the kitchen (although I have a feeling they probably burned it and threw it away, judging by the state of the kitchen after that guest.)