Guest wants a ‘partial refund’ because mom is visiting

We have a private room type listing. My boyfriend’s mom is going to be visiting and will be sleeping in our master bedroom on an air mattress and using the bathroom in our room while these people are here. They’re only staying for one night and said they will check in late and check out early the next morning. Mom told us last minute that she was coming and the guests say they are uncomfortable with her being there due to her age (kind of weird?). I’ve read in Airbnb’s rules that you have to disclose everyone who is staying at the listing. Do you think this would count as a travel issue that would entitle a guest to a refund?

I’m no expert on the Airbnb small print but this really smacks of guests trying their luck. That’s pretty outrageous to suggest that you shouldn’t have a family member staying in your own home. If you had an entire family of aunts, uncles and cousins all vying for bathroom space then maybe they’d have a point. But I think they’re pushing their luck and you should use the charming British phrase, “on yer bike mate!”

Or perhaps something a little more polite and professional - but don’t offer a refund.

8 Likes

My boyfriend told them to just cancel if they are uncomfortable. They responded that Airbnb offered them a coupon so they will still be staying. Hopefully they don’t come up with a list of other complaints. I feel like we could actually report them for claiming to be uncomfortable with a person due to their age according to Airbnb’s non discrimination policy! Will try it if they mention it in a review.

7 Likes

I would definitely not offer a partial refund. Did your guests book IB? If so you might be able to get rid of them because make you uncomfortable.
Did you check their past reviews of hosts? If they are as nit-picky as they appear, more reason to getting rid of them.

3 Likes