Guest vs Host Expectations

This was posted for discussion on a local host forum. Per the listing details, it’s clear to me the guest violated the host’s rules. However, I also blame Airbnb marketing with its theme of “be at home anywhere.” What appeared to be reasonable accommodation to the guest appeared to be high risk to the host – potentially losing a local permit or getting an Airbnb suspension for a party. I have little doubt the guest has experienced discrimination in the past that may have led to their perceptions; and possibly the host also has had negative interactions with partiers, neighbors, etc.

1 Like

Thank you for sharing this.

Looking at this and other posts I think it makes great sense for hosts to summarize the salient rules of the listing in their confirmation message, which would have avoided what might have been a misunderstanding here.

An example of a recent confirmation message for our listing goes, in part, like this:

We look forward to hosting you starting at 4 pm on Jul 24, 2023; your check-out is at 10 am on Jul 31, 2023. Your reservation is for 4 guests and you understand:

o Home is suitable for non-smokers (no smoking inside or outside),
o Unless otherwise agreed only for children age 12 and over.
o No animals.
o Maximum occupancy, whether overnight or not, is six and, unless otherwise agreed, limited to registered guests.
o The person making the reservation must stay throughout the stay (no ‘third party bookings’ in Airbnb speak).
oThe number of guests in your Reservation cannot increase until approved and they arrive.
o No parties or events
o Quiet times are, outside 9 pm - 8 am (Worcester noise ordinance); inside, 10 pm - 8 am.
o Kindly, no shoes to be worn inside the house.
o Full list of rules in listing.

@Amita

1 Like

This is BS. I’m really sick of people playing the race card- it makes a mockery of real discrimination.