Guest showing up 1 day early

I’ve been hosting for over two years. I’m a woman who lives alone, and I rent out a spare bedroom in my house. Overall, the experience has been positive, but I’ve just had an unnerving experience.
tl; dr: guest showed up 1 day before reservation

The guest booked a stay starting on a Tuesday. I messaged him on Monday morning, asking “what time do you plan to check in tomorrow?” and seeing if he had any last minute questions. He never responded.
A little after 3 that afternoon, I got notification on my phone that someone had tried ringing my doorbell multiple times. I make it clear in the listing that my check-in window starts at 5pm because I work away from home during the day.
Half an hour later, the guest messaged me saying that no one was home and could I please contact him soon. I called AirBnb for advice because I was really unnerved that he was trying to get into my house a day early. The rep brushed totally past my personal safety concerns and focused on if I could accommodate him Monday night. I said “No” and the rep said they could call him to make sure he had arrangements. The rep also followed up with a message stating that a Case Manager would contact me shortly. I felt relief, believing that they would help me through an awkward situation. I did not hear back from them that day.
After getting off the phone, I messaged the guest back and re-stated that his reservation wasn’t until Tuesday but to expect a call from AirBnB. An hour later, he apologized for messing up the dates and asked if I could accommodate that night - so I’m pretty sure AirBnB never contacted him. I said “no” and advised him to work through AirBnB if he needed help finding a place to stay.
I finally got a message from a Case Manager on Tuesday morning asking AGAIN if I could accommodate - for the previous night! ALL communications with the guest are through AirBnB messaging, and it was obvious the CM hadn’t looked at those at all.