Guest demanding $300 refund

Hi every one,

I am so sorry it is long, but to describe the situation I cannot get it much shorter.

I’ve been hosting since july 2021. My first listing rate is 4.96 (56). second is 4.88 (8). received excellent reviews from guests. Third listing was started on july 16, 2022. I have 4 reviews at 5 star.

I am experiencing a very difficult guest for my third listing who just checked out few days ago. Today, I received an email request $300 refund.

the following is from guest— (This guest requested discount when they book and we offered it on top of our already low price compare with other similar listing.)

*Grace, we had a very bad experience staying here, the indoor smell was particularly strong, the heating and wind noise was loud, the windows were opened on the day of check-in, the bathroom space was very small, the water temperature was adjusted, and it suddenly became hot, and the space was small, and there was no place to hide away.We had a hard time sleeping during our travels and had a cold. I would like to be reimbursed for the 300 CAD refund."

Above message was written in Chinese, it is translated to english.

-The smell they claimed should describe as damp/moisture in Chinese. We are located by sea in Richmond BC, Canada. the underground water level is high. Moisture is expected. (our suite is above ground, not a basement)