First responder and active military

What is everyones thoughts on offering discounts for active military and first responders, my instinct is to do it??

I am a newly retired active army officer and still a first responder (equine ambulance). My BS alma mater of the United States Military Academy is indicated in my list of schools in my profile. I think this was actually pulled from my Facebook profile back then as I hadnā€™t added it. My listings are all near military bases as I live in one of them and have lived in all of them so far at one time or another. I have been doing Airbnb for 3 years now and am always budget listings. I have occasionally offered military discounts. My results have been mixed, however. I have gotten horrible reviews and great reviews from military, whether I have given them a discount or not. I have also been stiffed by failure to follow House Rules and/or pay for extra people or fines or whatever, whether or not I have given discounts.

I take each on a case by case basis and hope for the best. I have decided that regardless though I will indicate that I gave a discount And they still break the House Rules (if they did). It may help future hosts decide that giving them a discount is not going to work in their favor with this guest regardless.

3 Likes

Thanks for your very objective opinion. All that was good information.

1 Like

I donā€™t.

My price is my price. I donā€™t discount for jobs I find respectable and I donā€™t charge more for jobs I find less respectable.

9 Likes

Iā€™m not against offering a military discount however Iā€™ve decided my price is my price. My rentals are reasonable for the area.

Also my rental was not treated well when I gave a discount to meet the military housing allowance for an expectant mom to stay in my fully furnished rental (stationed in Germany; family and birthing center in NC,USA).