Welcome! We are a community of AirBnb hosts

This forum is dedicated to connecting hosts with other hosts. Sign up to get the latest updates and news just for AirBnb hosts! Note that we are not affiliated with Airbnb - we are just passionate hosts!

Extra Cleaning Fee in House Rules?

I’ve been hosting for about 2 months and most of my guests have been clean. A few have left the house very dirty. I currently charge a $25cleaningfee. Am I allowed to note In house rules that if house is left very dirty, an additional $25 cleaning fee will apply? I want to drive cleanliness and that this is my home, not a hotel.

You can put anything in your rules as long as it doesn’t violate Airbnb policy.

I’m curious, do you refund if someone leaves the room very clean? I’d just think it evens out over time.

Charging extra for anything or even collecting for damages can be a pain. How are you going to objectively measure “very dirty” as opposed to “a little dirty” “somewhat clean,” etc? Rules need to be clearly stated and enforceable. For example, I used to have a rule stating guest had to park in the curved part of the driveway, not in front of my house. It couldn’t have been clearer yet I didn’t get 100% compliance. What am I going to do? Charge people? Get up in the middle of the night when they check in and tell them to move their car? I removed the rule and put security cameras up and quit worrying about it. Strange thing is that I get fewer people parking in the wrong place now than when I was all uptight about it.

This will likely be hard to enforce if the guests object. Airbnb wants actual receipts and such for damages or extra cleaning. Best to have a cleaning fee you are comfortable with and just leave negative reviews for dirty guests.

1 Like

The cleanliness level is up to my discretion. I think it’s a good idea, the threat of an additional fee will be enough to have guests clean up after themselves.

Please let us know how it works out.