Expectations of a guest

My apologies If I am not welcomed to this forum. I am not a host, I am a guest. This is my first time using the service and it has me confused. Are listed amenities available for use? If it says washer/dryer and there is no additional information in the house rules, does that mean I can use it at my leisure? I don’t reuse towels. That’s unsanitary and just disgusting. I’ve read numerous threads and it seems the expectation is for the guests to reuse towels. If the listing says ac, that means I have access to the thermostat right? I shouldn’t be sweating in my room when the thermostat is at 74 and it’s a listed amenity.

1 Like

The answers to your questions depend on many variables.

If you are renting an entire house you will probably have less restricted access to the the washer/dryer than if you rent a private room. If you rent a private room you will have to coordinate with the hosts. In any case there may be quiet hours during which you are not permitted use the washer/dryer. Some hosts have restrictions on how many loads a guest may wash during their stay.

Many people reuse towels so you are insulting them by calling the habit unsanitary and disgusting. As it is the norm for Airbnb guests to use the same towels for a few days; I would recommend that when you request to book you tell the host that you require fresh towels daily.

Many hosts have boundaries on air conditioning and heating use. Some have upper and lower temperature restrictions. Some control the air conditioning and heating remotely. Some have rules that the guests are expected to abide by.

12 Likes

Hi. I look forward to this discussion! It is so interesting to hear about things from a guest’s perspective. Can you clarify what you mean about re-using towels? Do you expect a clean towel every day? If so, that is not the norm, not even in hotels. It is a waste of energy. It’s perfectly fine to use the same towel for 3 days.

4 Likes