Dogs Again..newbie needs your help

I am a newcomer. I am trying to soak up as much as I can from reading these boards.

We anticipate opening our place in May.

It is our vacation home… we will live here six months a year in Mississippi, and use it as an Airbnb six months a year.

I am a retired professional boarding kennel operator, dog trainer, and groomer.

I presently on two dogs and two cats.

My home is about 2500 ft.², 3+ bedrooms.

I think we are not going to take dogs, I know for certain no cats….

I should also explain, that we own 15 rental properties in the state of Pennsylvania so I have experience with renting long-term. In those properties we allow dogs with extra fees, but this year we have stopped renting to cats because of excessive damage.

In the past when I advertised for long-term renters, I’ve had several people mention that they had ESD, and I dodged a bullet by renting to others. The reason I did this is because I find that most people I hate to say it are fakers…and BUY the title on line.

Am I making a mistake by not taking dogs? And if I say I am not taking dogs, will I be in trouble if someone says they have an ESD or service dog and I do not allow it? Or does the law say on this take these? As I said I am a newbie and I am not sure about the Airbnb business as we have not opened yet.

I appreciate you guys so much, and your mentorship.

I am not sure if I’m going to be hiring a company or to run things or doing this myself. I’m trying to do it myself, it will be hard because I live in New Jersey and my place will be in Mississippi. I already have a cleaner lined up and a maintenance man.

Presently with my long-term rentals, I lived in the next state and do most of it through the Internet. I’m experienced at doing credit checks etc. myself.

Thank you all for taking time to read my entry

1 Like