Considering listing my apartment on Vrbo, any suggestions will be much appreciated!

Hello, it’s been awhile I haven’t been very active here. I had some personal stuff going on for several months. Missed this forum. People here are really friendly and helpful!
I am thinking of also putting my list on Vrbo, is there anything I should pay attention or be worried? I don’t get any bookings for next February and March, so maybe Vrbo could bring some?

There was a recent thread talking about VRBO listing. I understand that their fee is a little higher, but I don’t use them myself.

1 Like

Thanks, Christine, I will check the thread. :grinning:

I have no personal experience with any other booking platform aside from Airbnb, but I know that what platforms bring hosts good business can be quite dependent on a whole range of factors.

Some platforms are used more by guests in some parts of the world than others, some bring good guests or bad, depending on your location, the type of market you cater to, the type of listing you have, and so on. I’ve read hosts saying the majority of their bookings are coming through VRBO, and others the opposite.

Since you only pay service fees on actual bookings, not simply to list, it seems like a matter of trying it out, and seeing if it works for you.

1 Like

We like VRBO.

They don’t generate as many bookings as Airbnb but they also don’ t get as involved as Airbnb does, which we think is a good thing.

Importantly to us you can require that the guest buy an insurance premium for damages. It costs the guest $79 for $3,000 of damage coverage. We’ve collected on it a few times.

They allow events and parties, but we don’t.

I think it’s prudent to be on more than one platform.

3 Likes

Can you be on VRBO if the STR is a suite on the entire 2nd floor. (Locked door and no one else has access to unit). Kitchenette (not a full kitchen) ?