Cleaning fees have turned me off!

CLEANING FEES HAVE TURNED ME OFF!!!

I have been staying in Airbnbs for 2-3 years now. I usually stay in a small private room. I don’t lounge around the house/apt or use the kitchen. I gather my used towels/sheets and take away my own trash when I leave. I HATE the cleaning fees. Hosts abuse them. They are profit centers. When it costs US$2 to do a load of laundry in Mexico and 5 minutes to sweep the floor (no vacuum avail), or when an entire papaya costs 5 cents in Cuba, why are hosts charging a US$15 cleaning fee? Sometimes it’s as much as the room. Often, the floors are dirty. Fridges are smelly. I may as well stay at a hotel and get “fee-d” to death. With Airbnb, it’s this fee, and that fee, and this tax, and that. It’s TOO MUCH!!!

I’m done with paying cleaning fees.

3 Likes

aaaaand back to hotels you go! x

20 Likes

I agree with you! Maybe I’m old school, okay, I AM old school. But hotels, motels, and b&bs, don’t charge cleaning fees. I guess Why should Airbnb? I can see it if you rent out an entire home for a week or so. Renting out a room for a night or two and charging outrageous cleaning fees is wrong in my book. I’ve seen listings on Airbnb that entice you in with a low rate, then you see a cleaning fee that is more than the price of the room! We do not charge any cleaning fees and use that as a selling feature in our listing.

8 Likes

Are you a host too?.

1 Like

Bye Felicia!..

7 Likes