Can you charge a cleaning fee for hosting a service animal?

I have a “no pets” listing and currently do not charge a cleaning fee. I’m new to air bnb and trying to get some reviews under my belt before I add a cleaning fee. ( I’m open to opinions on that too)
My question is is it legal or even moral to charge a cleaning fee for hosting a guest with a service animal? Thanks.

Nope. It’s not legal nor is it allowed by Airbnb. I’m not interested in having a discussion about morals right now so I won’t address that part :wink:

7 Likes

Not allowed, but if someone is bringing a service animal, you can cut down on possible extra cleaning by providing some old sheets, towels, or small blankets and request that the guest use them to protect any furniture the dog lies on.

It would seem that you haven’t read Airbnb’s service animal policies, so be sure to famliarize yourself with that. There are 2 questions you can ask the guest, which can help with warding off the fake service animal claims.

6 Likes

In addition to the great advice above I just want to mention that hosting dogs doesn’t mean there will be extra cleaning.

Unfortunately I no longer accept pet dogs because of HOA regs, but I did for years and there was never any additional cleaning required. After all, everything is going to be thoroughly cleaned anyway.

People with dogs, and especially with service dogs, are generally very considerate towards their hosts.

I’d make sure to have dog bowls, a dog bed, doggie treats and so on. In the same way that parents appreciate people who make a fuss of their kids, the same applies with dog owners. It’s a great way to show what a thoughtful host you are.

5 Likes