Can I ask a difficult guest to leave?

Hi guys!

I’m new to hosting (only 7 months in) and am on my 12th guest. All up to now have been easy to get along with and a pleasure to host…until number 12!

The guest has booked for 5.5 weeks but today marks 2 weeks and we aren’t getting on well at all.During the first week there were a few niggles but nothing serious (one of which was clearing a cupboard so he could store his food in there, perfectly reasonable of course and potentially a slip on my part)

However, during his first weekend here he vacated his room on both days leaving the bedroom window wide open.

As there is a single story extension under his window at the back of the house I asked (after the weekend) if he could close the window when he left the house and nobody else was here for security reasons. His response was “you leave your window open for all to see?” As my bedroom window is at the front of the house (a flat fronted terraced on a quiet street) I explained that for me this wasn’t as much of an issue.

At this time I also informed that I had a potential permanent lodger visiting to look around for later in the year and would he be OK with this. No problem.
The guest had left food on the side in the kitchen (teabags and cereal) so as part of tidying up I placed them in his food cupboard during the day. Later that night he returned to the house and asked why I had done this. I explained why and said I had cleared more room for him as I thought maybe he didn’t have enough. He started shout at me and demanded that I came into the kitchen where he was and took his food back out of the cupboard for him.

We spoke a little afterwards and I managed to calm him down.

The following two days I returned home to find the rented bedroom windows wide open again and contacted Air on how best to handle this. They advised that I should send a more formal message to him via the app. I did this and the window situation has resolved.