Bleach marks on my linen!

I’ve been got for the first time with the face cream bleaching linens. The guest has ruined a duvet cover and pillowcase and a bath towel. They’re about 18 months old. The thing that annoyed me most was she knew but didn’t message me. She just checked out and I didn’t see until it came out of the washing machine. She admitted this when I messaged her. Was she hoping I wouldn’t notice? She has agreed to pay. I have asked her for half the cost. How should I review?

Typically you won’t see the bleaching right away. At least you got 18 months out of it. I’ve had some ruined on the first use.

Honestly I don’t think there is anyway to fight the BP war except to go all white. I have a GF who uses a BP face product and she has ruined a ton of my towels because she forgets about the bleaching effect (she uses white at home). Now I remember for her and when she visits I give her the bleached out towels to use.

3 Likes

In 3 and a half years this is my first time of having linen ruined by bleach. I don’t think the creams are as popular in the UK. What does BP stand for? Anyway the grey linen ended up with pink streaks. I will charge every time someone does this, if they use that stuff they know and should warn hosts.
Back to the point I am annoyed she didn’t message me and let me have a nasty shock when she knew, possibly days ago. If she is dishonest how should I review her? Of course I need to wait to know whether she pays half the cost of the linen.

Benzoyl Peroxide

Also be aware of Salicylic Acid, another additive in face cleansers, that does similar discoloration to dyes in sheets and towels.

I subscribe to @Bunny 's approach to using whites rather than prints or colors.

1 Like

I can understand your reasoning. However I find whites go yellow after a couple of months so that wouldn’t work for me.
What do you think of her checking out without telling me about it, and her review. Seemed like she didn’t want me to notice til it was too late.