Assaulted by a Male Guest as a Former Superhost

As an experienced former Superhost for years, I was assualted by an angry male guest (with no prior Airbnb experience) for telling them to leave an hour after checkout time.

The police filed an Assualt on a Female report and charges are being pressed against the guest.

Without explanation or chance to share my story, Airbnb deactivated my account and two listings based on zero information from tb police report. They sided with a guest with no reviews, and a criminal record prior to assaulting me.

Airbnb will not take my emails or calls. I’ve simply been cut off from the income that supported my child as I boot-strap another start-up. As a single parent, I have a PhD and work as a Data Scientist, and Airbnb treated me like incompetent trash after earning them $10,000 over the years. They had me wait over 30 minutes on the phone to try to speak with a manager as they were deactivating me, but no manager or explanation ever came.

With enough disgruntled former hosts, we can take action to alter these unacceptable practices by Airbnb. Now I’ve got to take the time to be in court as an assault victim, also sue that defendant, and now speak with attorneys about suits against Airbnb. Negligence isn’t allowable when hosts and guests are trusting Airbnb.

2 Likes

Many folks here have said that they got quick action on problems like this when they posted a short summary of what happened to the AirBnB Twitter account or the AirBnB Facebook page.

Do you have copies of the police report or other info related to the police call?

7 Likes

Did anyone witness this or is it just your word against theirs? What is their side of the story? Where do you live that there is such a law as “Assault on a Female”?

1 Like

To add to @Mexican 's queries:

Why does it matter that you were a Superhost (at some point)?
Why did the guest’s gender matter so much that you started a new thread to indicate in the title that the assaulter was male?