Are hosts using videos to get attn / occupancy?

Hello fellow bnbrs. New to this and honestly looking to see what tools I can use that really work to attract more guests / bookings.

A friend of mine is a videographer and has begun to create a series of small videos to put online and promote his listing. I am new to airbnb but I want to start as strong as possible.

I’m curious if anyone has had success doing this (creating videos to promote their listing). If it helps boost the listing a bookings a bit I will probably try it myself but want to make an informed investment.

Lastly, if anyone out here could give me a heads up on things they’ve struggled with in trying to get more bookings I would REALLY appreciate it so that I can learn from your mistakes as well.

I hope someone out there has some feedback. Thank you in advance :]
-Stevie

1 Like

As a newbie, I lowered my rates to attract bookers and get reviews. Once I had 10 five star reviews, I increased my rate. Try lowering your rates to get booked.

2 Likes

Just to demonstrate that this forum has plenty of hosts with completely differing opinions (sorry @Ritz3 :slight_smile: ) I just want to mention that I’ve never appreciated that way of working. I strongly believe in charging a good price from day one.

By this I mean a price that’s good for the guest but is also very good for the host.

So many hosts undercharge for their services which is bonkers. And they are the hosts who burn out, or give up or, in some cases, find that hosting is far from making them money, it’s costing them money.

Don’t be frightened by Airbnb recommending that you price low. And don’t be frightened of having the highest price in your neighbourhood. Offer friendly service and good value - value doesn’t mean cheap or budget.