Advice re guest and rules

I would be grateful of some advice…I have been hosting for many years and also had lodgers, mostly without issues and have been very lucky to have some wonderful guests so I am not sure why something has never been an issue with someone before is an issue with this guest.

I let out a room in a spacious two bed. The guest shares with me only.

Whilst I don’t feel the need to always know if someone is in or out it is helpful for me to know because I will be quieter if I know someone is in. I knew this guest would be on a course the first week and working from home the second week (which I was ok with for one week, but not any longer).

Also I work as a musician and so will aim to play when people are out, though I let people know prior to booking that I work form home and may be playing instruments or singing when they stay, if I am working on a project at home. I guess from a fire safety point of view it works to know as well.

When I came home yesterday I wasn’t sure if my guest was in when I had left in the morning so locked the door. When I returned the door was locked so I wasn’t sure if she was in or out. I said “hello” fairly quietly outside her door and was met with silence. So I said "hello: again to which my guest shouted “I’m on the phone” sounding very annoyed and irritated.